Tags

, , , , , ,

Jerry.  That’s going to my probably bf’s name.  I shouldn’t jump the gun.  I’m really good at that.  But he’s hung out with me the last two evenings and I’ve been such a good girl.  I haven’t put out.  He hasn’t asked for me to either.  The change is refreshing.

Here’s some of what I know about Jerry: he grew up in a conservative Christian home that encountered some rough times.  In his late teens/early 20s he discovered life outside of what I like to call “The Bubble”.

The Bubble – the atmosphere created by Christians/religious individuals (I’m sure The Bubble exists in other faith-based facets) which is characterized by:

-the degrading of anything secular
-the fear of judgment from leaders (i.e. pastors/ministers, etc., parents, deacons, teachers, etc.) in regards to behavior, viewpoints/opinions that differ from said leaders’ “correct” way of behavior, viewpoints/opinions
-the actual judgment from leaders (i.e. pastors/ministers, etc., parents, deacons, teachers, etc.) in regards to behavior, viewpoints/opinions that differ from said leaders’ “correct” way of behavior, viewpoints/opinions
-the idea that everyone must be humble all of the time
-the idea that anything said must be Biblical
-the idea that people who are not “true Christians” are “bad people” (there’s a whole list of people who are not “true Christians” under The Bubble)

Anyway, do you understand what I mean about The Bubble?  Jerry and I both grew up inside The Bubble, respectively.  So, he discovered life outside of said The Bubble in his late teens/early 20s.  He dabbled in things like secular music (*gasp* You mean he listened to things like Queen and The Eagles and Pink Floyd?!?! Oh. My. Gosh!!), smoking/drinking (*gasp* He’s putting things into his body that defile God’s temple?!), drugs (eh, shit happens), sex (………), etc.  I have no judgment for this man’s life choices.

However, I am apprehensive how he’ll view some of my life choices.  Namely the one where I live with my ex-fiance…  That is going to be an awkward conversation, but a necessary one.  In fact, that’s the only thing I’m worried about sharing with Jerry.  Maybe, just maybe he’ll understand the reasons…

Consequence #37 of living in The Bubble: continual worry that others will judge harshly and that said judgment will result in dismissal of relationship (familial, friendship, romantic, or otherwise).

